Journey to Minimalism

Screen Shot 2013-11-10 at 6.00.18 AM

You all have heard me talk frequently of minimizing my stuff and keeping the acquisition of new stuff to a minimum. And most of you probably know that this approach relieves me with the stress of having to move it all or concerning myself with where to store it when we travel.

The truth is, those perks are just the icing on the cake. What led me to minimalism was the state of having it all materialistically, but being completely unhappy.

I was 19 years old when I quit college and went on to pursue bigger, better things in life. The idea of a young entrepreneur set to heart and by the time I was 21 I owned my own business as a fitness advisor with hired personal trainers, and making an average of $100 an hour. It was “the good life”.

I lived in a resort style apartment complex and spent most of my time and money keeping up with the joneses. I threw raging parties, hosted fancy dinners, and frequented Vegas and Palm Springs. If there was anyone you’d like to be friends with, it would be me.

Long story short, a series of events had me broken down, lonely, confused about who I was and what my purpose was in life. I asked, daily, for truth and to find a way to happiness. I clearly recall these words falling from my lips, “I don’t care what it takes. I don’t care how hard it is. I want to love myself and my life. I just want to be happy.”

Around the time I met my husband, I resisted the answer life had given to my request. Through much confusion, challenging moments, trial and error, I have found peace. Peace in knowing that I can be happy whenever I so choose and that my happiness is no longer based on the conditional circumstances of life.

After discovering tools and perspectives that led me to a life I love living, I look around and see a life I never could have foreseen. In fact, I see a life that would have me utterly convinced I’d be unhappy living.

I don’t own a new car or live in a resort-style complex. I no longer wear designer clothing, stylish make up, or expensive jewelry. I don’t throw parties, drink for social entertainment, or receive fancy gifts on holidays. I no longer eat out at nice restaurants, own fifty pairs of shoes, or decorate my home with lavish furniture and decor.

To my pleasant surprise however, I am no longer unhappy.

Happiness is actually quite simple and thus it makes sense that minimalism, the act of removing excess from one’s life, has simplified my experience enough to make room for happiness.

Leave a Reply

